this is my experience

This is as stream-of-consciousness as it gets.  I’m a scattered mess.

I’m starting clean.  Fresh.  A new blog with new material.  I want to experience something new.  Since November just started and I just signed up, I think it’s a fine time to start writing.  It’s also encouraging because it’s National Novel Writing Month.  In the spirit of writing, I will write.  I will write when I don’t know what to say and I will write when I don’t know when to shut up.  I will write to remember what it is I had for breakfast, today and yesterday too.  I want to write to be a better person.  I want to write to teach myself to listen and hear my own thoughts as well as the ideas of those around me.  I think I can use this blog to learn to listen to my heart and trust my brain.  I can use the blog as a memory, to remember the good times and reflect on the bad ones.  I choose what I want to share with the world that chooses to read this.  

I began blogging on myspace and used it as a motivational tool while I trained for the Chicago Half Marathon.  The race was in September and it was a great experience.  I finished the race in 2 hours and 9 minutes, less than a 10 minute mile pace.  Since then, I’ve used it as an outlet to reflect on movies I’ve watched, music that’s caught my attention and books that I’ve read.  The best part of the whole experience for me so far is the conversations that it has been able to spark.  Whether it’s interest in the running blogging that old high school peers have stumbled upon or when it sparks dinner conversation with a friend that I see every couple of weeks, I like how it’s affected my life.  I want to continue to track my fitness, and keep running too.  I get back into this, I need to hold myself accountable and what better way than writing about it when tasks are completed.

I subscribe to a number of blogs on my RSS feed.  Some are purely vain like “Go Fug Yourself,” others are based on current events like my Discover Magazine Bloggers and I also enjoy my cooking and design blogs.  Maybe someday I’ll be able to make a living and narrow my blog focus, but I know that there are thousands and probably millions of blogs out there that have that in mind, so I won’t invest too much time in that line of thinking.  For now it’s a tool for me, and those close to me can use it to stay a little bit closer to me and have the option of filtering my life story to their liking.

I’ll let this one slide onto the interwebs and then post my lovely opinions about the last couple of movies I watched.  Hopefully I’ll be alert enough to get in some reading or crossword-ing, only time will tell, let the games begin!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

